Career Guides

Originally titled R©sum©s in Cyberspace, this brand-new edition has been completely updated to keep pace with latest trends and developments in job hunting and career development opportunities via the Web. It gives job seekers advice and step-by-step instruction on how to create the perfect electronic r©sum©, which can be sent virtually anywhere in the world from one's home computer. The book's list of web sites accepting e-r©sum©s and offering jobs online has been updated and streamlined, and now consists of the top ten companies in each major career category. Thousands of other links are kept up-to-date on the book's companion web site. No longer perceived as a "link book," this new edition places increased emphasis on the "how-to" of r©sum© design, writing, and use on the Internet. A new chapter teaches readers how to create and use e-portfolios in their job searches, which is then tied into the current chapter on home-page r©sum©s. Here in a single volume is a virtual encyclopedia of everything job seekers need to know and understand in today's competitive job market.

Your objective: Stand out from the pack. Thanks to the ease of submitting a resume online, recruiters today receive literally hundreds of resumes for each open position. How do they sift through these stacks of resumes? What can you do to position yourself at the top of the heap? In this WetFeet Insider Guide, career advisor Rosanne Lurie explores these questions to bring you the latest wisdom from recruiters and hiring managers. She also analyzes a number of resume formats and real job seekers' resumes to help you determine the ideal format and focus for your own resume. Book jacket.

∗ Information on 40 different countries, including the United States<br /> ∗ Includes job sources, Internet sites, work permit/visa requirements, interviewing, and cultural advice<br /> "Until The Global Resume and CV Guide, there has not been any information regarding country-specific job application guidelines for candidates who want to take the international job search into their own hands . . . The Global Guide is an outstanding resource."<br /> -Daniel Mensch, Associate Partner, Andersen Consulting, Sweden<br /> MASTER THE RULES OF THE GLOBAL JOB MARKET COUNTRY BY COUNTRY<br /> Did you know that in Japan, the job application or rirekisho is a handwritten two-page form that is purchased from the local stationery store? That in the US, attaching a photo to your resume/cv is a faux pas that tells the employer you do not know the rules? That in Sweden, your resume/cv should be signed by someone who can attest that what you wrote is true? That in Korea, it is important to state on your resume/cv if you are the eldest child in the family?<br /> Commerce has gone global, and so have careers. If you want to capitalize on rapidly expanding opportunities outside your native land, this unique, comprehensive guide gives you the knowledge you need to make your very best impression anywhere in the world. Experts from more than forty countries-from Argentina and the Baltics to Saudi Arabia,Thailand, the UK, and the US-share cultural do′s and don′ts, business practices, and job-hunting tips and help you create a winning resume tailored to the specific requirements of your target nation.<br /> How to Get the Job You Want in Any Country<br /> ∗ Country-by-country overviews of 40 countries in North and South America, Asia, Europe, the Baltics, and more<br /> ∗ How to match your resume/cv to the country<br /> ∗ Cover letters<br /> ∗ Job sources<br /> ∗ Internet sites<br /> ∗ Work permits and visas<br /> ∗ Interview tips<br /> ∗ Cultural advice

For all investment-banking hopefuls hoping to land an interview with the investment bank of their choice, WetFeet comes to the rescue. This book describes how resumes and cover letters are used in the I-banking recruiting process; insider tips for resume content and format; what I-banking recruiters look for when reviewing a resume; how to improve the quality and marketability of your resume.

This groundbreaking guide is back with expert advice on acing all aspects of the mind-numbing process of winning a management consulting job. Readers learn the business concepts, buzzwords and solutions to brainteasers they need to succeed.

The only way to master the case interview is with practice. The third book in WetFeets Ace Your Case series provides 15 new sample questions. Each book in the series offers an introduction to the case interview;an explanation of the most common question types, with tips for each; and detailed examples of good and bad answers.

WetFeet has earned a strong reputation among college graduates and career professionals for its series of highly credible, no-holds-barred Insider Guides. WetFeet's investigative writers get behind the annual reports and corporate PR to tell the real story of what it's like to work at specific companies and in different industries. Book jacket.

Consulting recruiters use the case interview as a primary means of evaluating interviewees. The fifth book in WetFeets popular Ace Your Case series provides 15 more case questions to help consulting hopefuls sharpen their case-cracking skills.

Investment banking interviews are highly competitive. Beat the Street offers tips to acing interviews in corporate finance, research, sales, and trading. We talked to recruiters, new hires, and senior bankers at the leading investment banking firms to answer all of your questions about interviews--from information sessions to the final interview to the offer.

As some of the most challenging and competitive interviews around, investment banking interviews require extensive preparation. This companion to Beat the Street offers more detailed explanations of the types of questions candidates are likely to encounter and 16 practice interview questions, with in-depth examples of good and bad answers.

This book shows today's job candidates a new, more targeted way to write resumes to get them back on the same playing field with the best employers and improve their odds of winning the job they want. The system an employer uses when filling jobs has changed significantly in the past few years, and it is still evolving. Rather than simply looking at an applicant's past jobs, companies are instead looking at candidate's experiences in certain key areas including measurable work habits and the personal skills, known as competencies, used to achieve objectives at work. Competency-Based Resumes offers you a new and effective way to create resumes that emphasize the knowledge, skills, and abilities that you have and employers need.

It's amazing the myths one can find in some résumé books. Scott Bennett has hired hundreds of people in a variety of industries, and he knows firsthand what kinds of résumés spark the interest of employers. In The Elements of Resume Style, Bennett explains why some of the most popular ""tricks"" backfire more often than they work, and offers clear, smart strategies for creating resumes and cover letters that get people jobs. From entry-level to executive, users of this invaluable guide will: * See their resume from the employer's perspective * Avoid the errors most candidates make * Handle job-hopping, employment gaps, and other touchy subjects honestly and effectively * Write cover letters that stand out -- and learn the untapped power of the inquiry letter The book features: * 1,400+ Sample Action Words, Action Statements, and Position Descriptions/Blurbs * 200+ Vague Claims to Avoid and 500+ More Words and Phrases to Avoid * Sample Resume Format, Sample Response Letter, Sample Inquiry Letter * Sample Informational Interview Request Letter * Sample Response to Request for Salary Requirements * Sample Salary History, Sample References The battle for jobs is tighter than ever. The Elements of Resume Style can help you make sure your first salvo is as powerful and on-target as possible.

After reading this book, youa ll have the critical skills to find the right person for the right job every time, develop clear and accurate job descriptions and requirements, establish a fair and defensible hiring process, and construct unbiased, objective interview questions.

This guide gives professional advice on how to behave in the office, and out. Every aspect of modern business etiquette is covered, from sexual harassment to protocol when doing business around the world, from telephone and Internet decorum to wearing the right clothes.

Create a "KickButt" resume that gets your foot in the door! Show employers what you've got and why you're the one for the job! Careers expert Joyce Lain Kennedy provides step-by-step guidelines for creating a resume that powerfully presents your skills, experience, and personality -- to get you the interview you're after! Whether you're a recent graduate after your first big job or a seasoned professional looking to expand your career horizons, Resumes for Dummies, 2nd Edition, will help you create a resume that won't take "no" for an answer. Make a lasting first impression: Find your most marketable self with easy worksheets Choose a format that plays up your best features Draft cool summary statements that sizzle and sell Goof-proof your resume for picky computer scanners Go digital with your resume -- online strategies that really work! Use effective key words and avoid rookie rhetoric Put a positive spin on tough issues like demotion and gaps in employment

Today's job market and workplace have many unwritten rules for dressing smart and getting ahead. From deciding on what to wear at job interviews to looking professional on the job, this book identifies 101 dressing mistakes women often make that can negatively affect their careers. Includes errors such as looking too casual, inappropriate attire for a business environment, combining the wrong colours, no sense of style, using too little or too much make-up, not having a polished appearance, unfamiliarity with what styles work well with one's body structure, buying quantity instead of quality, and much more. Includes invaluable tips on how to improve one's appearance and get ahead in one's career. Includes colour photographs.

Today's job market and workplace have many unwritten rules for dressing smart and getting ahead. From deciding on what to wear at job interviews to looking professional on the job, this book identifies 101 dressing mistakes men often make that can negatively affect their careers. Includes errors such as looking too casual, inappropriate attire for a business environment, combining the wrong colours, no sense of style, and not having a look that fits into the company's image. Includes invaluable tips on how to improve one's appearance and get ahead in one's career. Includes colour photographs.

Strong, impressive resumes that lead to the right job!Resumes for Computer Careers helps you write resumes that hit the target every time. It offers essential advice plus nearly 100 sample resumes and 20 cover letters tailored to the computer field. Includes a variety of resume formats, tips on highlighting strengths and using active vocabulary, and helpful worksheets for gathering personal information.

Contains nearly 100 sample resumes; numerous sample cover letters; worksheets that help you gather information and draft your resume; descriptions of common elements in the most popular resume formats; tips for crafting your resume using active vocabulary; and advice on layout and submitting resumes electronically.

To stand out among the hundreds of job seekers applying for any position, it's vital to have a resume that hits the target every time. Each book in this series offers: Nearly 100 sample resumes and 20 cover letters for each field The most up-to-date techniques for writing cover letters and resumes Tips on highlighting strengths and using active vocabulary Work sheets for gathering personal information Advice on how to conduct your job search And much more

Contains nearly 100 sample resumes; numerous sample cover letters; worksheets that help you gather information and draft your resume; descriptions of common elements in the most popular resume formats; tips for crafting your resume using active vocabulary; and advice on layout and submitting resumes electronically.

The books in this series present job hunters in the particular field with the most up-to-date examples of resumes and cover letters pertinent to their career. They are all-in-one guides to writing resumes and cover letters, with many examples specific to the field. This edition contains thoroughly revised and up-to-date information. Includes basic job search advice and 100 sample resumes and 20 sample cover letters.

Contains 100 diverse sample resumes that represent the spectrum of job seekers, from entry level clerks to executives. This book provides: sample cover letters; organizational worksheets; language tips for wording a resume; and advice on submitting resumes electronically and using technology to enhance job prospects.

Helps you create a tailor-made resume that will help you land your perfect job. This title takes you step-by-step through the process, helping to assess your talents and organize them into a standout resume, whether you just graduated from college, are changing careers, or are re-entering the job market after years at one company.

Innovative ideas for creating a skill-based career portfolio For job seekers looking to provide tangible, easily accessible proof of their skills and accomplishments, a portfolio of careerrelated documents is fast becoming the essential tool. The Career Portfolio Workbook shows readers how to compile and organize a career portfolio­­one that is easy to review and quickly adaptable to specific interviews and circumstances. The Career Portfolio Workbook provides job seekers of any profession or experience level with a powerful new weapon­­the confidence and the material to promote themselves and their work to others. Its step-by-step process explains how to: Create a career portfolio of personal skills­­why, how, and what to include Target a career portfolio to specific needs­­a job interview, a performance review, or a career transition Prepare materials, based on more than 50 sample documents­­and five complete portfolio samples

Create a strong, impressive resume that will lead you to the right job! To stand out among the hundreds of job seekers applying for any position, you have to have a resume that hits the target every time. Resumes for First-Time Job Hunters offers: Nearly 100 sample resumes and 20 cover letters A variety of eye-catching resume formats Tips on highlighting your strengths and using active vocabulary Work sheets for gathering personal information And much more

For the first time in one compact volume, candidates now have the following in their arsenal: - 600 powerful action verbs- 500 positive adverbs- Dozens of attention-grabbing examples

For the first time in one compact volume, candidates now have the following in their arsenal: - 600 powerful action verbs- 500 positive adverbs- Dozens of attention-grabbing examples

Clear, quick, effective solutions to the 50 most common resume problems "No matter how much you think you know about writing resumes, you'll learn something new.  I'd recommend this book to anyone conducting or anticipating a job search."--Laura Lorber, Managing Editor, CareerJournal.com In this solution-oriented guide, bestselling careers author John J. Marcus zeros in on the 50 most common resume writing problems and offers easy-to-perform fixes for each. Among other crucial lessons, readers learn how to identify and deal effectively with job history problems, skill-set deficiencies, poor visual presentation, and formatting problems. A compelling feature that distinguishes The Resume Makeover from all the competition is its unique quick-reference, "Before & After" format. Each chapter focuses on one common problem and offers a proven solution, along with before-and-after documents illustrating how a few simple changes can significantly improve a resume. In addition, readers learn: How to write a resume in half the usual time Strategies for changing careers or reentering the workforce Key words and phrases to include How to write high-impact cover letters The five areas in which all recruiters and employers grade resumes, and how to ace each one

How can an internship launch your career? What do Oprah Winfrey, Katie Couric, and Bill Clinton have in common? They all had internships: Winfrey began her career interning at WTVF in Nashville, Couric got on the road to fame interning at a Washington radio station, and Clinton wet his political feet interning for Senator J. William Fulbright. Is there an internship that’s perfect for you? Yes, there is. An internship can put you on the path to success, point you in a new career direction, help you discover your talents, and give you great experience. A successful internship can also help ensure gainful employment after you finish high school, college, or grad school. What advantage doesThe Best 109 Internshipsgive you? The competition for good internships is fierce, but this book gives you a competitive edge.The Best 109 Internshipsputs you on the inside track for the best opportunities in law, the environmnet, advertising, sports, computers, journalism, music, health care, publishing, finance, education, television–even beer production–and more. The best information on the best internships! Entries include: §In-depth, candid critiques of the internship and its daily responsibilities §Feedback from actual interns §Advice on how to land the internship of your choice §Crucial information on important deadlines and the materials required to complete an excellent application §And, of course, our patented Busywork Meter, which tells you the truth about how much mind-numbing, menial labor will be expected of you If you want a great internship, you need this book.

A collection of more than 300 quality cover letters an d23 corresponding resumes written by professional resume writers. Includes expert tips for writing and designing your cover letters for maximum impact. It is a rich idea book full of adaptable examples and suggestions

A giant compendium of advice and before-and-after r'sum? transformations that's hailed by professional r'sum? writers as the definitive resource for writing and designing r'sum's that get people noticed and hired. Explains all the ?nuts and bolts? of r'sum? creation and illustrates professional techniques with actual examples that show why the techniques work.

This book is a showcase collection of 178 outstanding sample resumes and 30 cover letters representing the very best creations of professional resume writers. These one-of-a-kind, eye-catching resumes cover jobs from all occupational groups and at all levels. Using the samples and Dr. Noble's writing tips, readers can create their own interview-landing resumes and cover letters. Key features for this edition include resume and cover letter writing, design, and layout strategies and tips from one of the most well-known names in the resume business, a bonus section of resumes printed on special resume paper, resume samples indexed by occupation and resume features (such as "Education and Credentials"), and more coverage of electronic resumes, samples as well as creation and formatting tips.