Career Guides

OPPORTUNITIES IN . . . SERIES PROVIDES VALUABLE CAREER INSIGHT TO STUDENTS AND JOB SEEKERS! The most comprehensive career book series available, Opportunities in . . . explores a vast range of professions. Each book offers: The latest information on a field of interest Training and education requirements for each career Salary statistics for different positions within each field Up-to-date professional and Internet resources And much more

Through her work with hundreds of corporations around the world, leading headhunter Roz Goldfarb provides readers a treasure trove of valuable information for thriving in this creatively driven business, including updated hiring criteria, the latest developments in technology, and the marketplace affecting design careers. Discussion in this revised and expanded third edition includes: jobs, hiring practices, salaries, portfolios, resumes, networking, headhunters, training, freelancing, and more, with a special focus on the new design disciplines, training requirements, and opportunities for the Internet. Careers by Design should be on the desk of every ambitious graphic designer.

With all the pressure of turning a college degree into a stable, decent-paying job, those creative individuals who are considering the value of an art degree in the work world may be pleasantly surprised at the variety of good jobs available to art graduates. In fact, success in many professions requires exactly the type of skills and knowledge acquired from an art degree. This book explores several of the best career opportunities for art graduates in a number of industries. Anyone who wants to use an art degree to land a top job will find this book stocked with invaluable insight and concrete advice. The book is divided into two sections. The first explains why an art degree is useful, what an art dgree is and how to go from high school to college to a job in art. Interesting sid-bar topics include top art graudate programs, books on the arts, finding an art scholarship and resume advice. Interviews with professionals in the field are included. The second section provides detailed information on the top jobs. Jobs covered include antique and art dealers, creative arts, conservators and conservation technicians, desktop publishing specialists, educatin directors and museum teachers, illustrators, Internet developers, landscape architects, photo stylists, secondary school teachers, therapists and visual artists.

Provides a survey of the graphic design market, including coverage of print and electronic media and the digital design disciplines that offer sought-after jobs.

Includes architects, costume designers, exhibit designers, industrial designers, and toy and game designers.

Each volume in Ferguson's Careers in Focus series offers an overview of a career category followed by a selection of jobs

Praise for the previous edition: ...should serve to reassure concerned parents that there are numerous job opportunities in the visual arts...Recommended..., School Arts Completely revised and up-to-date

Ideal for college-bound students or anyone thinking about making a career change Careers in Architecture offers all the information career seekers need to explore and choose a profession and then narrow it down to a job that suits them. The book provides an overview of architecture, outlines job options, and shows how to plan and prepare for a career.