Career Guides

Can I become a doctor? Should I? How can I find out? What is it like to be in medical school? What other careers in the health field might be right for me? What are the satisfactions and pitfalls of a career in medicine?

The U.S. Department of Labor has released its workforce projections, and the health-care industry tops the list. About 16 percent of all new wage and salary jobs created between 2002 and 2012 will be in the health services-3.5 million jobs-more than in any other industry. Anyone considering a career in this explosive field will find all the information they need in this comprehensive resource. The career guidance section includes how to choose the health-care career best suited for individual goals, how to get the required education, and how to relate to patients. Each of the 100 job overviews include scope, activities, educational requirements, salary range, advancement, certification, and outlook. Readers will also find training and education programs for each of the 100 featured careers.

Designed to answer any question a reader might have concerning the opportunities, requirements, responsibilities and expectations associated with careers in health care, this book presents material in an easy-to-understand way.

Offering job seekers information about a variety of careers within the dental care field, this title includes training and education requirements, salary statistics, and professional and Internet resources.

Discusses the history of osteopathic medicine and the future of the field, with information on medical schools and associations, and includes profiles of practicing osteopathic physicians describing their training and life on the job.

Offers a brief overview of medical imaging, and discusses educational requirements, responsibilities, safety, and opportunities for advancement.

Among today's fastest growing and most exciting career areas is health care

This WetFeet Insider Guide focuses on three significant consulting specializations human resources and IT, which are relevant to virtually any client company, and health care, a vast and complex industry. For those interested in a consulting career who want to know about options beyond strategy consulting, this book will tell them what they need to know.

OPPORTUNITIES IN . . . SERIES PROVIDES VALUABLE CAREER INSIGHT TO STUDENTS AND JOB SEEKERS! The most comprehensive career book series available, Opportunities in . . . explores a vast range of professions. Each book offers: The latest information on a field of interest Training and education requirements for each career Salary statistics for different positions within each field Up-to-date professional and Internet resources And much more

Opportunities In . . . series gives you valuable career insight into your job field of choice! The most comprehensive career book series available, Opportunities In . . . explores a vast range of professions. In Opportunities in Allied Health Careers, you will find: The latest information on the field Training and education requirements you will need Salary statistics for different positions Up-to-date professional and Internet resources And much more

Opportunities In . . . series gives you valuable career insight into your job field of choice! The most comprehensive career book series available, Opportunities In . . . explores a vast range of professions. In Opportunities in Physician Careers, you will find: The latest information on the field Training and education requirements you will need Salary statistics for different positions Up-to-date professional and Internet resources And much more

Includes biomedical equipment technicians

Explores career opportunities for those interested in becoming involved with pharmaceutical sciences.

Are you looking for the latest information to open the door to the career of your dreams? This work covers a range of jobs in this industry, from those that require high school and trade school to associate, four-year, and graduate degrees. It includes salary statistics, training requirements, as well as the lowdown on life on the job.

Defines the top twenty-two careers in alternative medicine, discussing the nature of the work, educational or training requirements, getting started, advancement possibilities, salary, employment outlook, and sources of more information.

This book has been written specifically for busy junior doctors looking for that 'competitive edge'. The medical interview is quite different from any other interview, but this book will help you prepare well in advance to optimize your chance of success.

A life in medicine is something that many dream of but few achieve. The tests students face–both literal and figurative–just to get into medical school are designed to weed out the weak. InPlanning a Life in Medicine, the experts at The Princeton Review will help you succeed in a premedical program, score higher on the MCAT, meet the challenges of medical school, and ultimately flourish in your medical career. More than just a comprehensive plan for getting into medical school,Planning a Life in Medicineis a handbook that will help you to cultivate the skills and habits–such as compartmentalizing knowledge and improving concentration–that will help you along your “path of heart” and serve you well throughout your education and medical career.

Get everything you need to know to make the right decision This insider's perspective on the nation's top medical schools provides rankings based on student surveys, just like those made popular by The Princeton Review's Best 361 Colleges guide. Best 168 Medical Schools also includes student quotes about classes, professors, the social scene and more, as well as a complete index of schools throughout the country with basic information on their programs. Plus, it covers the ins and outs of admissions and financial aid, and the schools get an opportunity to talk back by including their own profiles. Best 168 Medical Schools has all the information you need to find the perfect match in a medical school.

Many pre-med students have great MCAT scores and excellent grades–the best way to stand out in a crowd of medical school applicants is to write an exceptional essay! The experts at The Princeton Review have teamed up with real medical school applicants and admissions officers to bring youMedical School Essays That Made a Difference. This book puts you in the admissions officer's seat–inside you'll find real application essays, interviews with admissions pros, and profiles of students who've been through the process and made it through to medical school. This book is an essential guide for anyone navigating the very competitive medical school admissions process.

Get everything you need to know to make the right decision! This insider’s perspective on the nation’s top medical schools provides rankings based on student surveys, just like those made popular by The Princeton Review’sBest 361 Collegesguide. Best 168 Medical Schoolsalso includes student quotes about classes, professors, the social scene and more, as well as a complete index of schools throughout the country with basic information on their programs. Plus, it covers the ins and outs of admissions and financial aid, and the schools get an opportunity to talk back by including their own profiles.Best 168 Medical Schoolshas all the information you need to find the perfect match in a medical school.

We can help you make the right decision. The Princeton Review's "The Best 168 Medical Schools "gives you the facts about admissions requirements and curricula at the top accredited U.S., Canadian, and Puerto Rican allopathic schools, as well as accredited osteopathic and naturopathic schools. It provides answers to all the practical questions you should ask when applying to medical school, including: - Answers to common admissions questions - Key information about deadlines, tuition, and admissions criteria - Information on each school's training programs, student life, and more - How much financial aid is available and how can you get it "The""Best 168 Medical Schools" also includes a special section for nontraditional applications with financial implications, school-specific help, and tips on surviving the MCAT. You'll also get easy-to-use snapshots of each school's admissions criteria, deadlines, telephone numbers, tuition figures, e-mail and snail mail addresses, and other key info.

We can help you make the right decision. The Princeton Review's The Best 168 Medical Schools gives you the facts about admissions requirements and curricula atnbsp;the topnbsp;accredited U.S., Canadian, and Puerto Rican allopathic schools, as well as accredited allopathic, osteopathic, and naturopathic schools. It provides answers to all the practical questions you should ask when applying to medical school, including: * Answers to common admissions questions * Key information about deadlines, tuition, and admissions criteria * Information on each school's training programs, student life, and more * How much financial aid is available and how can you get itnbsp; The Best 168nbsp;Medical Schoolsnbsp;also includes a special section for nontraditional applications with financial implications, school-specific help, and tips on surviving the MCAT. You'll also getnbsp;easy-to-use snapshots of each school's admissions criteria, deadlines, telephone numbers, tuition figures, e-mail and snail mail addresses, and other key info.