Career Guides

Every college major has special qualities that equip students with valuable skills and training. This training is perfect for a wide range of careers. The Great Jobs series helps students to make the most of their major, with help to: Assess talents and skills for a job Target the perfect career Perfect the job search Explore a wide range of career options Present college majors as workplace assets And much more!

More than 100 "opportunities" for students and job seekers! The most comprehensive career book series available, Opportunities in . . . covers a range of professions, from acting to writing, and encompasses traditional as well as cutting-edge careers. Each book offers job seekers essential information about a variety of careers within each field and includes training and education requirements, salary statistics, and professional and Internet resources.

Are you looking for the latest information to open the door to the career of your dreams? This book covers a range of jobs in this industry, from those that require high school and trade school to associate, four-year, and graduate degrees. It includes salary statistics, training requirements, as well as the lowdown on life on the job.

Each volume in Ferguson's Careers in Focus series offers an overview of a career category followed by a selection of jobs, profiled in detail. Each profile discusses the nature of the job, earnings, prospects for employment, what kind of training and skills it requires, and sources for further information. Each book also includes black-and-white photographs and interviews with industry professionals. Coaches & Fitness Professionals covers 18 jobs for those interested in physical fitness and athletics. Jobs profiled include: Athletic Directors College Sports Coaches Health Club Owners and Managers Personal Trainers Sports Physicians Sports Trainers Yoga and Pilates Instructors.

Each volume in Ferguson's Careers in Focus series offers an overview of a career category followed by a selection of jobs

Contains more than 70 job profiles, each one carefully reviewed and updated to reflect current duties, requirements, and salary ranges. The 18 detailed appendixes have been completely redone, and four new jobs have been added, detailing opportunities for women as professional athletes.

Intends to help readers match their skills to the field of science that's right for them - genetic engineering, DNA sequencing, space science, and other specialties. This book helps readers to: outline the educational requirements that are necessary for their field; assess their qualifications and create a professional game plan for success.

Providing a broad view of the typical responsibilities, job assignments, working conditions and equipment used, also offers general information on average salary ranges and fringe benefits associated with the career. Information is presented in a two-colour format designed specially to appeal to students. Ages 10+.

Careers for Scientific Types and Others with Inquiring Minds lets career explorers look at the job market through the unique lens of their own interests. The book reveals dozens of ways to pursue a passion and make a living--including many little-known but delightful careers that will surprise readers.

Over 80 jobs are profiled in this guide including biochemist, molecular biologist, pharmacologist, computer engineer, science teacher, forensic scientist and patent agent. Also featured are physicists, astronomers, chemists, zoologists, oceanographers and geologists.

Written in an easy-to-understand yet informative style, this series surveys a wide array of commonly held jobs, and is arranged into volumes, organized by specific industries and interests. These books are a useful for libraries and career centers.

Your guide to glide from campus to career This book helps you get from the lab to life! Whether you're considering majoring in biology, choosing a college or classes, or already have your degree and your lab coat, this is your definitive guide to diverse career opportunities, some of which you probably haven't considered. It goes beyond the basics to address specific concerns of biology majors with valuable information, including: * Advice on college and curriculum choices---- courses, internships, advanced degrees, and more * Tips to energize and expand your job search * Profiles of real graduates, their jobs, and how they got them * Eye-opening, objective information from a healthcare professional, education and outreach program manager, zookeeper, science reporter, healthcare attorney, and public health consultant * Overviews of typical salary levels, hours, and work environments * Extensive additional resources, including Web sites, professional organizations, periodicals, and more * Licensing requirements Learn what your peers in the work world like about their jobs--and what they don't. Learn about the routes they took and the mistakes they made. Then you'll be prepared to thoroughly examine your options and chart your course to success!

The most comprehensive career book series available, Opportunities In...explores a vast range of professions to help job seekers find the job that's best for them. Each book offers: The latest information on a field of interest Training and education requirements for each career Up-to-date professional and internet resources Salary statistics for different positions within each field And much more

Provides an overview of the field, career outlook, and information on education, training, and salaries.

Opportunities in Clinical Laboratory Careers offers you essential information about a variety of careers available in clinical labs and includes training and education requirements, salary statistics, and professional and Internet resources.

This book provides an in depth look at salary ranges, advancement prospects, employment trends, necessary experience and relevant unions and associations in the field of computers and cyberspace.

Aimed at high school, college and general readers, the books in this series provide up-to-date career information. Written in an accessible style, the comprehensive series surveys a wide array of commonly held jobs and is arranged into volumes organized by specific industries and interests.

These books answer the perennial question, What can I do with a degree in...? These are handy guides for those who are wondering how to translate their major into a career. This book is designed to help college students put their majors to work. It offers suggestions and profiles of career paths and general information about conducting an effective job search in the field specific to their major.

Each volume in this series offers an overview of a career category followed by a selection of jobs, profiled in detail. Each profile discusses the nature of the job, earnings, prospects for employment what kind of training and skills it requires and sources for further information.

With more than 100 titles in the series, Opportunities in... is the most comprehensive career books series in the world. This is a new title in the series. Each book in this series presents expert advice and the most up-to-date information available for training, resources, salary statistics, and opportunities in a specific, narrowly defined field.

Offers job seekers useful information about a variety of careers within the field of forensics. This book includes training and education requirements, salary statistics, and professional and Internet resources.

Written in an easy-to-understand yet informative style, this series surveys a wide array of commonly held jobs, and is arranged into volumes, organized by specific industries and interests. These books are a useful for libraries and career centers.